Yin and Yang Feng Shui Colors

One the most important things about Feng Shui are the colors you use. Whether it’s the color of the paint on your wall, the color of the artwork you choose, or the color of lamp shades in your bedroom, it’s important you choose the right Feng Shui colors to create the ambiance you are trying to achieve.

As you’re picking your colors you should try to keep in the back of your mind the things that are already present in that room. For example, if you’re picking colors for the living room think about how they will ‘fit’ with that ugly purple carpeting you haven’t been able to get rid of yet. It’s important to not pick colors that won’t match or that are going to clash. If possible, you should also try to keep all the trim throughout your entire house the same color because this is going to help the flow of energy (chi) from room to room.

There are two different sets of Feng Shui colors – the Yin and the Yang. Let’s take a look at the two different categories, starting with Yin first.

Yin Feng Shui Colors

Yin colors are those that give you a sense of relaxation and healing.

Old Fashioned Dust Mop Banner 4


Blue is soothing and calm and has yin energy. Because it reflects love as it relaxes and heals, this is one of the most significant colors in the Yin category. When you think about blue you probably think about the sky or water. For that reason, Feng Shui associates it with exploration and adventure.


Unlike the normal thought process of green being associated with money, in Yin Feng Shui, it is black. Emotional protection and power are associated with the color black also.


This is another color in the Yin category that has great purpose and significance. If mental or physical healing is needed, purple is the color that is associated with it. It’s also the color for spiritual awareness.


Oftentimes people don’t associate white with much of anything but in Yin Feng Shui color, it symbolizes purity, confidence, and poise.

Pink & Green

These are also colors that belong in the Yin category. They each have their own uniqueness and are used for different things in the practice of Feng Shui.

Now, let’s take a look at the next category – Yang.

Yang Colors and Feng Shui

Yang colors represent the earth elements meaning fire and wood. It is believed that these colors create motivation or provide positive energy.


Yellow represents friendliness, the sun, cheerfulness, and warmth. But, you should be aware that it has been noted that long exposures to yellow can create anxiety.

Polishing Cloth Banner 1


Orange is where you’ll find a lot of the yang energy. Because of this, it is very significant when practicing Feng Shui because it will strengthen concentration. It’s also known as the color of organization.

The remaining Yang colors are lavender, gold, red, brown and tan/beige. Just as all the colors listed above have their significance, these ones do too. Some of them symbolize luck, others symbolize romance and yet others portray money.


Keep in mind that practicing Feng Shui is more about keeping an open mind and open heart to the universe than knowing what all these different colors mean. Don’t get so hung up on using just the right color combination that you end up creating a room you hate. Instead, use the Feng Shui colors as a guideline, but always choose the colors that make you feel good.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Shopping Cart